Search Regina Public Library's catalogue

Reader's Café

Graphic Novel Blog

Horror Blog




Search




What are XML feeds?


Category: Award Winners

05/27/11


2010 Nebula Award Winner

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) handed out the 2010 Nebula awards to celebrate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing this past weekend. The winner in the best novel category was:

Blackout by Connie Willis

Summary: Oxford in 2060 is a chaotic place. Scores of time-traveling historians are being sent into the past, to destinations including the American Civil War and the attack on the World Trade Center. But now the time-travel lab is suddenly canceling assignments for no apparent reason and switching around everyone’s schedules. And when Michael, Merope, and Polly finally get to World War II, things just get worse. Because suddenly the once-reliable mechanisms of time travel are showing significant glitches, and our heroes are beginning to question their most firmly held belief: that no historian can possibly change the past.

All Clear by Connie Willis

Summary: In the first novel, three Oxford historians from 2060 slipped back into the war-torn world of 1940 England. Sent to observe behavior of the period, the trio becomes convinced that they might have inadvertently re-steered present and future history on a very damaging new course. All Clear sounds an alarm that is anything but reassuring. Meanwhile, back in 2060, the historians' supervisor and one of his young students begin a corrective mission of their own.

Here is a list of other nominees in the novel category:

* The Native Star M.K. Hobson

* The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

* Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal

* Echo by Jack McDevitt

* Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

For more information about winners in the other categories, click on the link.


03/21/11


Categories: Award Winners

2011 Fantasy Reading List Winner

The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) announced the winners of its annual Reading List awards in several categories, including fantasy, for books published in 2010.

WINNER

Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay

Summary: Haunted by the ghosts of fallen warriors, Shen Tai is forced into the political machinations of the Emperor’s court when he receives a rare and valuable gift. Lyrical language and complex characterization draw readers into this elaborately unfolding epic set in a fantasy world that richly re-imagines 8th century Tang Dynasty China.

Click on link to read Jim's Review of the book.

Read-Alikes:

Black Ships by Jo Graham

Summary: The daughter of a slave taken from fallen Troy, Gull was chosen to become the voice of the Lady of the Dead and counsel kings. But when nine black ships appear, captained by exiled Prince Aeneas, she joins him as his guide and leads him to his destiny.

Genghis: Birth of an Empire by Conn Iggulden

Summary: He was born Temujin, the son of a khan, raised in a clan of hunters migrating across the rugged steppe. Temujin’s young life was shaped by a series of brutal acts: the betrayal of his father by a neighboring tribe and the abandonment of his entire family, cruelly left to die on the harsh plain. But Temujin endured—and from that moment on, he was driven by a singular fury: to survive in the face of death, to kill before being killed, and to conquer enemies who could come without warning from beyond the horizon.

The Moon and the Sun by Vonda N. McIntyre

Summary: Tell the story of Marie-Josèphe, a young lady in the court of Louis XIV. When her brother Yves returns from a naturalist voyage with two sea monsters (one live, one dead), Marie-Josèphe is caught up in a battle of wills involving the fate of the living creature. The king intends to test whether the sea monster holds the secrets of immortality, but Marie-Josèphe knows the creature to be an intelligent, lonely being who yearns only to be set free. In a monumental test of the limits of patience and love, Marie-Josèphe defies the will of the king, her brother, and the pope in defense of what she knows is right, at any cost.


03/07/11


Categories: Award Winners

2011 Science-Fiction Reading List Winner

The Reference and User Services Association (RUSA) announced the winners of its annual Reading List awards in several categories, including science fiction, for books published last year.

WINNER

The Dervish House by Ian McDonald

Summary: A terrorist bomb sets off a chain of events that, over the next five days, entangles the lives of six characters. McDonald brilliantly imagines a world in which the ultramodern exists side-by-side with the ancient, and he blends science and mysticism to embody the contradiction that is Istanbul in 2027.

Read-Alikes:

Pattern Recognition by William Gibson

Summary: Cayce Pollard is an expensive, spookily intuitive market-research consultant. In London on a job, she is offered a secret assignment: to investigate some intriguing snippets of video that have been appearing on the Internet. An entire subculture of people is obsessed with these bits of footage, and anybody who can create that kind of brand loyalty would be a gold mine for Cayce's client. But when her borrowed apartment is burgled and her computer hacked, she realizes there's more to this project than she had expected. Still, Cayce is her father's daughter, and the danger makes her stubborn. With help and betrayal from equally unlikely quarters, Cayce will follow the trail of the mysterious film to its source, and in the process will learn something about her father's life and death.

When Gravity Fails by George Alec Effinger

Summary: In a decadent world of cheap pleasures and easy death, Marid Audran has kept his independence the hard way. Still, like everything else in the Budayeen, he's available....for a price. For a new kind of killer roams the streets of the Arab ghetto, a madman whose bootlegged personality cartridges range from a sinister James Bond to a sadistic disemboweler named Khan. And Marid Audran has been made an offer he can't refuse. The two hundred-year-old godfather of the Budayeen's underworld has enlisted Marid as his instrument of vengeance. But first Marid must undergo the most sophisticated of surgical implants before he dares to confront a killer who carries the power of every psychopath since the beginning of time.

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

Summary: What happens when bio-terrorism becomes a tool for corporate profits? And what happens when said bio-terrorism forces humanity to the cusp of post-human evolution?

Click here to read Jim's Review of Windup Girl.


11/01/10


Categories: Award Winners

2010 World Fantasy Award Winner

Congratulations to China Miéville for picking up the World Fantasy Award this past weekend for best novel!

The City & The City by China Miéville

Summary: When a murdered woman is found in the city of Beszel, somewhere at the edge of Europe, it looks to be a routine case for Inspector Tyador Borlú of the Extreme Crime Squad. But as he investigates, the evidence points to conspiracies far stranger and more deadly than anything he could have imagined.

Click on link for the complete list of winners in all of the categories.


10/04/10


Categories: Award Winners

2010 Sunburst Award Winners

The Sunburst Awards were recently handed out and honors the best Canadian novel of the fantastic. The winners were:

BEST NOVEL

Indigo Springs by A. M. Dellamonica

Summary: Indigo Springs is a sleepy town where things seem pretty normal . . . until Astrid’s father dies and she moves into his house. She discovers that for many years her father had been accessing the magic that flowed, literally, in a blue stream beneath the earth, leaking into his house. When she starts to use the liquid "vitagua" to enchant everyday items, the results seem innocent enough: a “chanted” watch becomes a charm that means you're always in the right place at the right time; a “chanted” pendant enables the wearer to convince anyone of anything . . .But as events in Indigo Springs unfold and the true potential of vitagua is revealed, Astrid and her friends unwittingly embark on a journey fraught with power, change, and a future too devastating to contemplate.

BEST YOUNG ADULT NOVEL

Half World by Hiromi Goto

Summary: Melanie Tamaki is human—but her parents aren’t. They are from Half World, a Limbo between our world and the afterlife, and her father is still there. When her mother disappears, Melanie must follow her to Half World—and neither of them may return alive.


09/07/10


Categories: Award Winners

2010 Hugo Award Winners

The 2010 Hugo Awards were handed out this past weekend. For the third time in its history, the Hugo for Best Novel resulted in a tie. The joint winners this year are:

The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

Summary:What happens when bio-terrorism becomes a tool for corporate profits? And what happens when said bio-terrorism forces humanity to the cusp of post-human evolution?

The City & The City by China Miéville

Summary: When a murdered woman is found in the city of Beszel, somewhere at the edge of Europe, it looks to be a routine case for Inspector Tyador Borlú of the Extreme Crime Squad. But as he investigates, the evidence points to conspiracies far stranger and more deadly than anything he could have imagined.

Here is a link for the complete list of 2010 Hugo winners.


08/17/10


Categories: Award Winners

2009 Best Alternate History Novel

The 2009 Sidewise Awards for Best Alternate History fiction were handed out earlier this month. Here is the winner for best novel:

1942 by Robert Conroy

Summary: December 7 is “the date which will live in infamy.” But now Japan is hatching another, far greater plan to bring America to its knees...The Japanese surprise attack on Pearl Harbor was a resounding success–except for one detail: a second bombing mission, to destroy crucial oil storage facilities, was aborted that day. Now, in this gripping and stunning work of alternate history, Robert Conroy reimagines December 7, 1941, to include the attack the Japanese didn’t launch, and what follows is a thrilling tale of war, resistance, sacrifice, and courage. For when Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto sees how badly the United States has been ravaged in a two-pronged strike, he devises another, more daring proposal: an all-out invasion of Hawaii to put a stranglehold on the American Pacific Fleet.


08/10/10


Categories: Award Winners

2009 Prometheus Award Winners

Late last month, the Libertarian Futurist Society announced that the following winners of the Prometheus Award for Best Novel:

The Unincorporated Man by Dani and Eytan Kollin

Summary: The incredible has happened. A billionaire businessman from our time, frozen in secret in the early twenty-first century, is discovered in the far future and resurrected, given health and a vigorous younger body. He awakens into a civilization in which every individual is formed into a legal corporation at birth and spends many years trying to attain control over their own life by getting a majority of his or her own shares. Life extension has made life very long indeed." Justin Cord is the only unincorporated man in the world, a true stranger in this strange land. Justin survived because he is tough and smart. He cannot accept only part ownership of himself, even if that places him in conflict with a civilization that extends outside the solar system to the Oort Cloud.

The awards will be presented at Aussiecon 4, the 68th annual Worldcon, to be held September 2-6, 2010 in Melbourne, Australia.


07/20/10


Categories: Award Winners

2010 Mythopoeic Award Winner

The Mythopoeic Society has announced the winners of its 2010 Mythopoeic Awards, presented for the best in myth and fantasy writing and scholarship in the spirit of the Inklings. The winner for adult literature is:

Lifelode by Jo Walton

From the introduction by Sharyn November: "Lifelode is what one might call domestic fantasy, set in a quiet farming community—but it's also about politics, God and religion, sexual mores, the make-up of a family, and how people change over time. There is magic, humor, and lots of good food."


07/12/10


Categories: Award Winners

2010 Locus Award Winners

Here are this year's four major Locus Award winners which were announced late last month:

Best Sci-Fi Novel: Boneshaker by Cherie Priest

Best Fantasy Novel: The City & The City by China Miéville

Best First Novel: The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi

Best Young Adult Book: Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld


:: Next Page >>