Subjects found within the Gale database:

Arts
Business
Education
Environment
General Reference
History
Information and Publishing
Literature
Medicine
Nation and World
Religion
Science
Social Science



E-Library Services



The Gale Virtual Reference Library includes the following:

HISTORY

Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students 4v, 2002
This work presents Africa, from Egypt to Cape Town and from prehistoric times to the present day, in a format accessible to high school students. It spans many disciplines, covering animals, foods, holidays and festivals, tribal groups, ecology, music and art, trade and economy, geography, religion, folklore, and fossil and skeletal discoveries.

Cambridge World History of Food 2v, 2000
This encyclopedia covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography. It offers a geographical perspective on the history and culture of food and drink and takes up subjects from food fads, prejudices, and taboos to questions of food toxins, additives, labeling, and entitlements.

Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict 2v, 2005
The Dictionary of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict covers the history of the conflict, going back to the birth of Zionism at the end of the 19th century.

Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion 3v, 2005
The Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion surveys clothing, body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress.

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture 3v, 2003
Presents 600 articles on food and its place in human culture and society, covering everything from agronomy to zucchini.

Terrorism Reference Library 4v, 2003
Explores the roots and evolution of terrorism, covering the nature of contemporary terrorism and terrorist organizations. Includes approximately 25 biographical sketches of terrorists and counter-terrorists, and features primary source documents that shed light on the aims and issues involved with terrorism.

Witchcraft in America 2001
This fascinating and informative source covers the history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that facilitated the witch hunts during the Colonial Period to modern day followers of Wicca.

World War I Reference Library 4v, 2002
Presents comprehensive coverage of the World War I period.

World War II Reference Library 5v, 2000
Covers significant events, topics, and people related to the World War II period.





| Text-only version