Text-only version

E-Library Services

Search a wide variety of electronic databases that provide in-depth information, and full-text articles from Canadian, U.S., and international sources.

Note: Access to these databases requires a valid Regina Public Library card number and your last name.
How do I get a Library card?




Alphabetical Listing of Databases

A
A to Z World Travel
A to Z World Travel contains 150 world city travel guides and 175 country travel guides with latest-generation content, images and audio. No other travel content product packs the editorial knowledge, visual excitement, and audio experience. Extensive travel guides include maps, photographs, and language learning audio.

Ancestry Library EditionIn Library use only
An enhanced library version of Ancestry.com, a popular genealogy research tool that provides digital access to U.S., U.K and Canadian census returns, vital statistics, military records, ships' passenger lists, directories, parish records, family trees, maps and forms.


AudioBookCloud
This audiobook collection has over 1000 fiction, non-fiction and Spanish titles. Titles are always available and there is no downloading involved. Please note: This product uses Flash.

Auto Repair Reference Center
Automotive diagnostic and repair information, service bulletins and recalls, wiring diagrams.

B
BookFlix
Watch animated storybooks, read books online and play games all in one place!

Britannica Academic
Access the complete online encyclopedia, a World Data Analyst Tool that provides statistics on every nation in the world, and interactive timelines.

Britannica School
This online encyclopedia is divided into three school levels: Elementary, Middle and High School. Choose the level that is best for you, and find articles written at an appropriate reading level. Select Elementary to access the Britannica Learning Zone for preschool children.

Business Index ASAP 1980 - present (Gale Group)
Magazine information for businesses and professionals.

Business Source Elite
This resource provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. The collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales and more.

C
Canadian Newsstand
Full text access to most Canadian major dailies. News delayed seven days.

Canadian Points of View Reference Centre
This database will help students and researchers investigate the multiple sides of current issues. Including videos, newspaper and magazine articles, and specially written reports, the information available will help users see the various reactions and opinions surrounding hotly debated topics, with a special concentration on Canadian points of view.

Canadian Research Index
Detailed citations for scientific and technical reports, statistical and annual reports and policy papers from all levels of the Canadian government and institutions.

CareerAIM
Find the job posting that is right for you. CareerAIM captures job opportunities on a daily basis from a vast array of resources, including commercial job boards, news groups, not-for-profits, recruiters, government, private corporate web sites and print media. As a result, CareerAIM is collecting approximately 300,000 unique new job opportunities each month from coast to coast in Canada, and the majority of these opportunities are not on any commercial job posting site. Create a user login to save your searches, or click on the "Job Search" button to immediately start searching.


CBCA Education
Canadian information in the field of education, with file depth back to the 1970s.

ChiltonLibrary.com
Get access to schematics, wiring diagrams, maintenance schedules and so much more for the most popular vehicles of the past 30 years, classic cars dating back to the 1940s, and additional coverage of specialty models.


CloudLibrary
CloudLibrary provides access to eBooks and eAudiobooks

Consumer Reports Online
ConsumerReports.org provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice across several franchises. Each product includes an overview and a ratings report card, as well as tester reviews & recommendations. Additional information includes brand reliability and user reviews, plus news, blogs, forums and video content.

Contemporary Authors (Gale Group)
Biographical information on more than 120,000 modern authors, including literary greats of the early 20th century whose works are popular in high school and college curriculums.

CPI.Q. (Canadian Periodicals) 1988 - present (Gale Group)
Full text or abstracts from a comprehensive list of Canadian and international publications, including full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail.

Cypress Resume
Job hunting? Use Cypress Resume to create your resume and cover letter. Just fill out your personal information, choose the type of job you are seekingand select the job statements that reflect your skills and qualifications. You will end up with a formatted resume to help impress your future employers.

E
eLibrary Canada
Containing more than 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts - plus thousands of maps, pictures, educator-approved websites, and multimedia (audio/video) files on a variety of different topics, eLibrary Canada is perfect for researching homework assignments, and finding information from Canadian sources.

Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan
The largest educational publishing project in the province's history, the Encyclopedia of Saskatchewan, is now online for the world to see. It currently features approximately 2,300 entries about the province with more than 1,000 accompanying charts, graphs, maps, tables and photographs.

Expanded Academic ASAP 1980 - present (Gale Group)
Articles from scholarly, trade and general-interest publications, as well as references for The New York Times.

F
Freading
Freading provides access to eBooks

G
Gale Courses
Gale courses provide free access to interactive, instructor-led online courses

Gale Virtual Reference Library

General Business File ASAP 1980 - present (Gale Group)
Analysis of company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well as the latest in management, economics and politics.

General Reference Center Gold 1980 - present (Gale Group)
Current events, popular culture, business and industry, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.

Global Road Warrior
The Global Road Warrior database contains detailed cultural, travel, communications, business travel, security, money and banking, transportation, and technical travel information for 175 countries worldwide. Also included are extensive collections of maps, flags, illustrations and photos.

Grant ConnectIn Library use only
Grant Connect provides searchable, detailed information on all Canadian grantmaking founndations, hundreds of corporate community investment programs, as well as government funding programs. It also includes American foundations that will fund Canadian charities.


H
Heritage Quest Online
A searchable database providing access to U. S. Federal Census records from 1790 onwards, PERSI (a PERiodical Source Index to genealogy and local history periodicals for both the US and Canada), and digitized copies of genealogy and local history books.


Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center
Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center provides comprehensive full text content for many of the most popular hobbies, crafts and recreation activities today. Subject areas include arts & crafts; collecting; games & electronics; model building; home & leisure; needlework; outdoors & nature; and scrapbooking & papercraft. This database offers detailed "how-to" instructions and creative ideas to meet the interests of virtually every hobby-enthusiast.

Home Improvement Reference Center
This database provides users with detailed, user-friendly "how-to" information covering all manner of home improvement/repair projects. Subject coverage includes electrical, plumbing, home decorating and much more.

Hoopla
Hoopla brings you thousands of movies, television shows, music, audiobook titles, eBooks and comics for free.

I
InfoTrac OneFile 1980 - present (Gale Group)
Millions of news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics. Updated daily.

K
Kids InfoBits (Gale Group)
Information for students in Kindergarten through grade 5 on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.

L
Learning Express Library
An interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help students and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. This product was created in the United States and the tests are based on American testing standards. Canadian standards may be different.

LegalTrac 1980 - present (Gale Group)
Use this database to find articles in all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers.


Literature Resource Center-LRC, Scribner, Twayne US, Twayne English, and Twayne World Authors (Gale Group)
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.

Lynda.com
Lynda.com online video tutorials with emphasis on enhancing your business, software, technology and creative skills.

M
Mango Languages
Mango is an online language learning system teaching practical conversation skills for a variety of popular languages, such as French, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese and much more. Mango also has English as a Second Language courses. If you would like Mango to track your progress, make sure you create a profile when you first log in.

N
National Geographic Society Publications Index
Subject guide to more than 108 years of National Geographic magazines, books, films, and educational products.

Naxos Jazz
Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collections of Jazz music available online. It offers close to 60,000 tracks from over 5,200 albums - representing more than 7,000 artists. Includes the full catalogue of Blue Note Records, 22 Fantasy Jazz labels and selections from over 150 other labels.

Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library provides access to thousands of classical music tracks.

NFB Campus
Get great Canadian content from the National Film Board of Canada (NFB), with free streaming video of NFB films.

Novelist Plus
Use a favourite author or title to locate other authors and titles of interest - or find books by subject, plot or series name. The site also includes award winners and genre reading lists.

Novelist K-8
Fiction guide for children and young adults. Includes book reviews, reading lists of recommended or award winning books, teacher resources and much more!



O
OverDrive
Heard any good books lately? Download your favourites onto your computer or portable listening device and take them wherever you go!

Overdrive for Kids eReading Room
Overdrive for Kids eReading Room is a collection built just for kids where dinosaurs roam and wizards fly, hard lessons are taught and children become addicted to reading!

P
PressReader
Read newspapers and magazines from around the world in the comfort of your own home! PressReader provides online access to today's newspapers and magazines in full-color, full-page format. Get access to more than 5000 newspapers and magazines from 117 countries in 57 languages.


Q
R
Repère 1980 - present (SDM)
410,000 références d'articles de périodiques de langue française avec le texte intégral de 20,000 articles et les adresses de 9,000 articles en texte intégral sur Internet.



Research in Context
Designed for students in grades 6-8, Research in Context contains information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and much more.

Road to IELTS
General Training Module / Academic Module

Road to IELTS helps students develop their skills to the levels necessary to succeed in the IELTS exam with advice videos, hints and tips on question types as well as downloadable practice tests. Please note: Access to Road to IELTS is limited to anonymous users only, so your progress will not be saved. Please click on the "My Progress" tab at the end of your session and record or print off your progress for next time you log on. Road to IELTS allows for a limited amount of concurrent users. Please log off when you are finished.

S
Small Business Resource Center
Small Business Resource Center covers all major areas of starting and operating a business including financing, management, marketing, human resources and franchising. It also contains a variety of sample business plans by real-life entrepreneurs.

Student Edition 1985 - present (Gale Group)
Information for grades 9 to 12 on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, sports, history, etc.

T
TumbleBooks
Online collection of animated, talking picture books that teach kids the joy of reading in a format they'll love. TumbleBooks are created by taking existing picture books, adding animation, sound, music and narration to produce an electronic picture book which they can read, or have read to them. The TumbleBook Library collection can be accessed from any computer that has an Internet connection. No log in required, and it's free!

TumbleBookCloud
This collection features over 400 titles for middle schoolers and teens. It features YA novels, classics, poetry, short stories, YA/Teen audiobooks, graphic novels and videos from National Geographic. No login required.Please note: This product uses Flash.

TumbleBookCloud Junior
This online collection features over 3000 titles for reading levels grades 3 - 6. The collection includes early chapter books, children's classics, graphic novels, children's audio books and new National Geographic videos. No login required.Please note: This product uses Flash.

U
Universalis Junior Online
Encyclopédie en ligne entièrement en français spécialement conçue pour les enfants et pour les jeunes adolescents.
Universalis Junior Online is a French-language encyclopedia designed for children and young teens.

V
W
World Book Online Reference Center
Online reference source containing every article from the 22-volume print set plus thousands more. Includes a dictionary plus extensive graphic and multimedia enhancements, related articles from major newspapers and magazines and much more.

World Book - L'Encyclopédie Découverte
L'Encyclopédie Découverte est écrite à un niveau approprié pour les jeunes utilisateurs dont le français est la langue maternelle, ainsi que pour les éléves plus âgés et les adultes pour qui le français est une langue seconde.

X
Y
Z
Zinio
Zinio provides access to magazine collections.






| Text-only version