Search Regina Public Library's catalogue

Reader's Café

Graphic Novel Blog

Horror Blog


What are XML feeds?

Archives for: May 2011


2010 Nebula Award Winner

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) handed out the 2010 Nebula awards to celebrate excellence in science fiction and fantasy writing this past weekend. The winner in the best novel category was:

Blackout by Connie Willis

Summary: Oxford in 2060 is a chaotic place. Scores of time-traveling historians are being sent into the past, to destinations including the American Civil War and the attack on the World Trade Center. But now the time-travel lab is suddenly canceling assignments for no apparent reason and switching around everyone’s schedules. And when Michael, Merope, and Polly finally get to World War II, things just get worse. Because suddenly the once-reliable mechanisms of time travel are showing significant glitches, and our heroes are beginning to question their most firmly held belief: that no historian can possibly change the past.

All Clear by Connie Willis

Summary: In the first novel, three Oxford historians from 2060 slipped back into the war-torn world of 1940 England. Sent to observe behavior of the period, the trio becomes convinced that they might have inadvertently re-steered present and future history on a very damaging new course. All Clear sounds an alarm that is anything but reassuring. Meanwhile, back in 2060, the historians' supervisor and one of his young students begin a corrective mission of their own.

Here is a list of other nominees in the novel category:

* The Native Star M.K. Hobson

* The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N.K. Jemisin

* Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal

* Echo by Jack McDevitt

* Who Fears Death by Nnedi Okorafor

For more information about winners in the other categories, click on the link.