# ANNUAL MEETING OF THE REGINA PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD JANUARY 26, 2010

**Present:** D. Hincks Joehnck, E. Kivisto, S. Monson, S. Bryce, D. Lucke, R. Kapoor, J. Brown, G. Kleisinger, J. Barber, J. McKenna, D. Nyczai

## I. Call to Order by 2009 Chairperson

The 2009 Chairperson, D. Hincks Joehnck, called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m.

### II. Remarks by 2009 Chairperson

D. Hincks Joehnck gave a report on the following 2009 RPL highlights:

- Further discussion and work have continued with the North Central Shared Facility, Prince of Wales Branch and the Central Library Development;
- The implementation of a single integrated library system (SILS) for the province;
- Regina students read over 7,000,000 minutes in the Mayor's Mega-Minute Reading Challenge;
- The development of a new Marketing and Communications Plan;
- The staff re-organization took effect on September 1 and is now in alignment with the new Service Plan;
- The Home Lottery brought in just over \$500,000;
- An online training program for ESL/EAL tutors was initiated thanks to a grant from HRSDC;
- RPL was co-recipient of the Ontario Library Association *President's Award for Exceptional Achievement* for the Working Together Project;
- *Diabolique* was named one of the top ten exhibitions of the year by Canadian Art magazine.

## **III.** Appointment of Meeting Chairperson

J. Barber, Library Director, took the chair for the election of officers.

## IV. Election of Officers and Appointment of Committees for 2009

(a) D. Lucke moved to approve the slate of officers and committees for 2010. CARRIED.

#### (b) <u>Election of Chairperson</u>

R. Kapoor nominated D. Hincks Joehnck as <u>Chairperson</u>. S. Monson moved nominations cease. CARRIED.

D. Hincks Joehnck was acclaimed the 2010 Chairperson.

#### (c) <u>Election of Deputy Chairperson</u>

R. Kapoor nominated E. Kivisto as <u>Deputy Chairperson</u>. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.

E. Kivisto was acclaimed the 2010 Deputy Chairperson.

#### (d) Appointment of Standing Committees

Art Acquisitions Committee

- S. Bryce nominated D. Lucke.
- S. Monson nominated J. Brown.
- E. Kivisto nominated S. Monson.
- D. Hincks Joehnck moved all nominations be accepted. CARRIED

D. Lucke, S. Monson, J. Brown were elected as members of the 2010 Art Acquisitions Committee.

#### SLTA Representative

E. Kivisto nominated G. Kleisinger. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.

G. Kleisinger was acclaimed the 2010 SLTA Representative.

#### Fundraising Committee

- E. Kivisto nominated D. Hincks Joehnck.
- S. Monson nominated R. Kapoor.
- G. Kleisinger moved nominations cease. CARRIED.

D. Hincks Joehnck and R. Kapoor were elected as the 2010 Fundraising Committee.

#### Governance Committee

- E. Kivisto nominated J. Brown.
- J. Brown nominated S. Monson.
- S. Monson nominated G. Kleisinger
- S. Monson moved all nominations be accepted. CARRIED

J. Brown, S. Monson and G. Kleisinger were elected as members of the 2010 Governance Committee.

D. Hincks Joehnck assumed the Chair.

#### VI. Confirmation of Rules of Order

J. Brown moved that the basis for the rules of order for all meetings of the Board and its committees shall be *Sturgis Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure* (Fourth Edition). CARRIED.

#### VII. Schedule of Meetings for 2010

January 26, 2010	Annual Meeting
	Regular Meeting
February 23, 2010	Regular Meeting
March 23, 2010	Regular Meeting
April 27, 2010	Regular Meeting
May 25, 2010	Regular Meeting
June 22, 2010	Regular Meeting
September 28, 2010	Regular Meeting
October 26, 2010	Regular Meeting
November 23, 2010	Regular Meeting
December 14, 2010*	Regular Meeting

G. Kleisinger moved that the monthly meetings begin at 4:30 p.m. with the exception of May 25, 2010 which will start at 4:00 p.m. CARRIED.

## VII. Other

None identified.

#### VIII. Adjournment

S. Bryce moved that the meeting stand adjourned at 4:50 p.m. CARRIED.

(Secretary)

(Chairperson)