REGULAR MEETING OF THE REGINA PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD January 27, 2009

Present: D. Hincks, E. Kivisto, S. Bryce, D. Lucke, R. Kapoor, S. Monson, J. Brown, J. Barber, J. McKenna

1.0 Call to Order

D. Hincks called the meeting to order at 4:44 p.m.

2.0 Approval of the Agenda

E. Kivisto moved that the agenda be approved. CARRIED.

3.0 <u>Minutes of the Previous Meeting</u>

S. Bryce moved that the minutes of the December 16, 2008, Regular Meeting and Committee of the Whole Meeting, be approved. CARRIED.

4.0 <u>Delegations</u>

None identified.

5.0 Business Arising from the Minutes

None identified.

6.0 <u>Items for Decision</u>

6.01 Human Resources Report

E. Kivisto moved that the report be received and filed. CARRIED.

7.0 <u>Items for Information</u>

7.01 Library Director's Report

E. Kivisto moved that the Board provide a donation to the Social Committee in the amount of \$500. CARRIED.

E. Kivisto moved that the budget for the 2011 Lottery home be set at \$525,000, with the addition of a clause in the contract indicating that the Library will expect an adjustment in price if the market decreases. CARRIED.

E. Kivisto moved that the Library Director's Report be received and filed. CARRIED.

7.02 SLTA Report

D. Lucke reported that the SLTA's spring meeting is set for February 27-28, 2009, and that the hiring of a new Executive Director will be on the agenda.

S. Monson moved that the SLTA Report be received and filed. CARRIED.

7.03 CLTA Report

D. Lucke reported that the CLTA has produced a list of interesting conferences that its Executive can attend, but at this point there is no clear mandate for attendance at these conferences.

S. Monson moved that the CLTA Report be received and filed. CARRIED.

7.04 Calendar of Events

S. Bryce moved to receive and file the Calendar of Events. CARRIED.

8.0 Date of Next Meeting

The next regular Board meeting will be February 26, 2009, at the Central Library.

9.0 <u>Adjournment</u>

D. Lucke moved that the meeting be adjourned at 5:00 p.m. CARRIED.

(Secretary)

(Chairperson)