# ANNUAL MEETING OF THE REGINA PUBLIC LIBRARY BOARD JANUARY 22, 2008

**Present:** D. Hincks, E. Kivisto, S. Monson, S. Bryce, D. Lucke, R. Kapoor, J. Barber, J. McKenna

## I. Call to Order by 2007 Chairperson

The 2007 Chairperson, D. Hincks, called the meeting to order at 4:35 p.m.

#### II. Remarks by 2007 Chairperson

D. Hinck's made remarks regarding the work of the Board over the last year.

#### **III.** Appointment of Meeting Chairperson

J. Barber, Library Director, took the chair for the election of officers.

#### IV. Election of Officers and Appointment of Committees for 2008

(a) E. Kivisto moved to approve the slate of officers and committees for 2008. CARRIED.

#### (b) Election of Chairperson

- S. Monson nominated D. Hincks as <u>Chairperson</u>. D. Hincks accepted the nomination. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- D. Hincks was elected the 2008 Chairperson.

### (c) <u>Election of Deputy Chairperson</u>

- D. Hincks nominated E. Kivisto as <u>Deputy Chairperson</u>. E. Kivisto accepted the nomination. S. Monson moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- E. Kivisto was elected the 2008 Deputy Chairperson.

### (d) Appointment of Standing Committees

#### Art Acquisitions Committee

- E. Kivisto nominated S. Monson. S. Monson accepted the nomination. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- S. Monson was elected as a member of the 2008 Art Acquisitions Committee.

### SLTA Representative

- E. Kivisto nominated D. Lucke. D. Lucke accepted the nomination. S. Monson moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- D. Lucke was elected the 2008 SLTA Representative.

#### Fundraising Committee

- S. Monson nominated D. Hincks. D. Hincks accepted the nomination. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- S. Bryce nominated R. Kapoor. R. Kapoor accepted the nomination. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- D. Hincks and R. Kapoor were elected as the 2008 Fundraising Committee.

#### Governance Committee

- E. Kivisto nominated S. Monson. S. Monson accepted the nomination. S. Bryce moved nominations cease. CARRIED.
- S. Monson was elected as a member of the 2008 Governance Committee.
- D. Hincks assumed the Chair.

#### V. Banking Resolution

No additional motion is required as there was no change of Chair or Deputy Chair.

#### VI. Confirmation of Rules of Order

D. Lucke moved that the basis for the rules of order for all meetings of the Board and its committees shall be *Sturgis Standard Code of Parliamentary Procedure* (Third Edition). CARRIED.

# VII. Schedule of Meetings for 2008

January 22, 2008 February 26, 2008 March 25, 2008 April 22, 2008 May 27, 2008 June 24, 2008 September 23, 2008 October 28, 2008 November 25, 2008 December 16, 2008	Annual and Regular Meeting
S. Monson moved that the monthly meetings begin at 4:30 p.m. on the scheduled dates. CARRIED.	
VII. Other	
None identified.	
VIII. Adjournment	
E. Kivisto moved that the meeting stand adjourned at 4:50 p.m. CARRIED.	
(Secretary)	(Chairperson)