Skip to main content
Trudi from Non-Fiction Collections February 22, 2019, 8:45 AM

If you loved Tara Westover’s Educated…

One of 2018’s most popular books was Tara Westover’s mega best-selling memoir, Educated. It tells the story of a young woman born to survivalists preparing for the apocalypse. Tara’s family lived in isolation and she did not go to school with other children. When one of her older brothers became violent there was no one to intervene. In this emotional coming-of-age story, Tara turns to books to study her way out of her tragic circumstances, showing a courage and resiliency that has inspired many.

We are two months into 2019 and the library’s holds list for Educated continues to be high. Are you still waiting to get your copy? Have you already read it and loved it? If so, here are five great readalikes we’re sure you’ll enjoy.

Find Educated in the catalogue: https://www.reginalibrary.ca/search/2593954
Also available as an ebook and eaudiobook from Overdrive/Libby and CloudLibrary.

  1. North of Normal - https://www.reginalibrary.ca/search/963046
     An unforgettable true account of physical, emotional, and psychological upheaval during a childhood spent with dysfunctional counter-culture parents in the Canadian wilderness.
  2. The Glass Castle - https://www.reginalibrary.ca/search/2632393
    Jeanette Wall survived a tumultuous nomadic upbringing by an alcoholic father and eccentric artist mother, where she and her siblings fended for themselves while their parents outran bill collectors and the authorities.
  3. Brain On Fire: My Month of Madness - https://www.reginalibrary.ca/search/873936
    A gripping medical mystery and instant New York Times bestseller, Brain On Fire is Susan Callahan’s terrifying account of her descent into madness and the miraculous diagnosis that saved her life.
  4. Hillbilly Elegy - https://www.reginalibrary.ca/search/2473818
    The moving story of an Appalachian childhood and how the author escaped the cycle of poverty, drugs and abuse to become a graduate of Yale Law School.
  5. Beyond Belief - https://www.reginalibrary.ca/search/1047712
    The niece of controversial Scientology leader David Miscavige presents a shocking tell-all memoir about her life inside the secretive and infamous Church of Scientology and her ultimate escape.

About Author

Trudi from Non-Fiction Collections

Natural habitat: Bingeing Netflix with my cat. I love scary movies and have been reading Stephen King since I was 11. Getting to see Hamilton in New York City was the thrill of a lifetime. My subject area for the library is everything nonfiction, including my favorites: memoirs, cookbooks, true crime, self-help, history and documentaries.